Blondes vs. Brunettes Player Spotlight

Whose side are you on? Support Team Blondes or Team Brunettes here! Either team; either side; we still fight Alz together!

Rachel

This is Rachel’s second year playing in the Alzheimer’s Association’s Blondes vs. Brunettes (BvB) Flag Football game in Tallahassee (also called RivALZ Tallahassee). 

  

She plays for her beloved grandfather who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease while Rachel was still in college. “I love him dearly and know that it puts a smile on his face when I tell him about our games,” says Rachel. “He especially loved that our Brunettes Team won last year!”  

  
Rachel loves the idea of age-old rivalries, so she shared a few of her musings about other important “vs.” in her life and culture. Here are the winners: “Chocolate”, “Florida Gators” and “Taylor Swift”. “Playing in this special game not only helps a cause that I care deeply about, it’s also a great way to meet fantastic people who have come to be friends,” Rachel shares. As for winning this year…”Go Brunettes!” she adds.



Katie

Katie has many friends whose families have been impacted by Alzheimer’s disease. “It is so heartbreaking to see how many people I know to be affected by the devastation,” says Katie. “I danced for 20 hours straight in the FSU Dance Marathon for four years to raise money for Children’s Miracle Network, now, I play football. For me, the reason is the same – it’s about protecting our future and the future of families and friends,” she adds.  

    
Katie understands that right now science is still unclear about what will happen with Alzheimer’s; but she wants to make sure she’s done everything possible to assist she can. “If I can help combat such a sad illness and make a positive impact on others’ lives (while having fun), why wouldn’t I do my part?”  she asks. Katie has played sports since she was a little girl; and enjoyed playing football all through college intramural days. When she found out about BvB (RivALZ), she felt she couldn’t resist.. “I graduated from FSU in 2014, and have made Tallahassee my home,” says Katie. “I work for the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and I am involved in the Junior League of Tallahassee. I am truly engaged in my community; and I can’t wait for another great BvB #rivALZ season! Go blondes!” she adds.

  

 

Leave a Reply

